A little piece of me (part 2)

Hello!

So where were we,

Oh yes….

We step out and I have a quick one on one with this mysterious school that teased the mind. Like you’d actually think that there was more to see but really that was it. No don’t get me wrong… It was not all that small but it wasn’t big either. It was white and blue everywhere. I quickly guessed this was the colour of the uniforms (the guys staring through the window were wearing blue sweaters and others were in shirts and even t-shirts!)  My heart was pounding and each step I took. I took each step psyching my brain that this is where I AM NOT GOING TO BE FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS!!! Of course this didn’t happen because in time I became “one” with this place. I got used to the waking up at ungodly hours for morning prep, cutting my hair after every two weeks, seeing teachers walking around with canes and of course the whips and cries of those who did’t really do what they were supposed to, the ugali (posho) and beans, the times we’d go scramble for hot water for breakfast (breakfast was not offered its up to you to survive in the morning lol), being asked what every word meant in swahili, no water at times and queuing ( i swear that’s the hardest word to spell hahaha). I got used to knowing that no amount of crying will take me out of the situation, just strength and determination each day came with. I learnt that those who are closest to you may be the ones who go behind your back and try fuck your reputation all because a small boy with a pea sized brain had a crush on you lol (high school drama). I most of all learnt that, No hard time lasts forever, it actually makes us pretty stronger than when we got into the situation.

Putting down this second part took forever, I know. Mainly because there was so much to share and honestly… telling it all, would be too long and probably boring so I thought it fit to say what I learned from this experience and probably what I loved.

Life is a circle of happiness, sadness, hard times and good times. If you are going through hard times, have faith that good times are on the way.

I learnt quite a lot. Enough for me to say that I am the way I am because of the circumstances I went through. There were long days. VERY LONG trust me and a day that passed acted as a consolation that I was a day closer to leaving that place. I came across the most beautiful souls and those I am glad I left in the dark. Learnt about cultures and understood that your way of life may not be as normal as you think. I also acquired the great skill of gratitude. I never ever take for granted anything that comes my way. Took everything with grace, even people who got on my last nerve. There were moments when I was not very much a fan of myself and began keeping to myself. I am still trying to get out of that phase. Maybe it its because I was that person who remained behind as everyone else progressed. I don’t know. But I am learning to look past that. We all start from somewhere. don’t we? And from there am I beginning to understand that everything that we go through happens for a reason. I may seem like it is taking forever but its only for a season.

As much as I was more than glad to leave the place I’d still love another chance at making up with the country. For those who know me, they know I loathed every second I breathed in the air of that place! And I thank God I had the chance of experiencing Namirembe hillside. It was not paradise, but it has surely propelled me to a place I never imagined I could be. Let me say I only dreamed of. So whoever is feeling generous… I’m on holiday come let’s go to Uganda.

We gain strength, and courage, and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face… we must do that which we think we cannot.

–Eleanor Roosevelt–

Guess I will leave it at that for today.

have a lovely weekend.

Mbagala mwena!

(I love you all!)

Driee.

4 thoughts on “A little piece of me (part 2)

Add yours

  1. Yeah!! I love this piece. It’s just awesome and cute. Every time I feel challenged by your writings. Lol!! Driee you are a blessing to me. I craved to read the part 2 of your story and here it is. I love it. Thanks Driee Good work. Continue writing. Keep up gal.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

