#1- Because Of My Mother…

Hey people!!! So finally I start putting out the beautiful little pieces you shared with me to define the person you have grown to be. It has not been an easy trip but step by step I am learning to understand and appreciate who I am as a unique being.
Below is a story from a beautiful modern African lady who happens to be my aunt and best friend. A lady with a beautiful soul with an explanation of where it all came from… Her mother.
Ladies and gentlemen…. Maureen.
Maureen….Ladies and gentlemen. 


If asked to describe who an African woman is, my thoughts go to my mother. It is because of the struggles, sacrifices and prayers she made to raise me that I am the woman I am today, because of her I have never been more proud of being a woman. She taught me how to be an African woman through her strength, protectiveness, wisdom, generosity, love and mentorship.

The strength she put in, the sternness and “mummy looks” she gave, the plowing, planting, weeding and sowing she did just to put food on our table… the work she put in till her heart gave out. All this she did with a smile on her face with a soft hum and a sweet calming song. If that isn’t strength then I don’t know what is. I have learnt to put smiles on other people’s faces simply by smiling at them or reaching out I have learned to listen, because with this harsh world things move so fast we forget to care about each other. I live to emulate my mother, to be that strength that unites people, the glue that holds the flimsiest of pieces in place. By simply being a woman of strength, a woman not afraid to try and fail and even better, to succeed. She taught me not to be limited by what I hear, to have a positive outlook and purpose to make the world a better place than I found it.

My mother, was a beautiful African woman, with long, black hair running across her back, with round soft cheeks and soft skin, I admired her beauty not realizing that I was like her, for that I feel blessed. She used to say, “Always ensure your hair is well done, your shoes are presentable” and one phrase I have never forgotten is “Never forget, whatever happens, life must go on”, it made no sense back then but now it does, time doesn’t stand still when life happens to you, not everything will always go your way, but it doesn’t hurt to try. My mother often taught us life lessons, a well of wisdom so deep that even old people would seek her for advice on matters.

She protected us from the harsh world with all her might. I remember this one time we were together, we witnessed a road accident, she grabbed me and hid my face holding me tightly to protect me from looking at how cruel the world can be. She loved so selflessly, she wouldn’t eat anything without having enough for all her children and then some for any unseen guest that may come along. Because of this she always insisted we make extra food, for you never know who will come by, thinking of other people, caring about other people even if they don’t know about it. That is simply amazing.

Whatever my mother touched, flourished, I call it “mama’s touch”, her flowers bloomed, she planted fruits in areas that were said such fruits wouldn’t grow, but hers flourished. Her field of corn attracted many and she did it with so much enthusiasm and a hearty laugh. And at the end of the day when she was resting after a long day’s work, we would all fight to rest on her lap, for it was the softest most comfortable place to be, there was only space for one on each lap and to get the spot you had to be quick and cunning. Regardless she didn’t make any of her children feel more loved or less loved than the other.

I can take an eternity describing the beauty that is my mother, the strength that is my mother for with what I learnt from her, I live to be just a fraction of who she was. I try to lend a helping hand where necessary because my mother taught me to be of help whenever I can. I give selflessly when I can because I saw how selfless she was. Whatever I do I ask myself, would my mother do this? Because in my eyes she was the purest being, I ever had a chance of meeting. She is my ideal of who an African woman is, a person I learn from, aspire to be, draw

If asked to describe who an African woman is, my thoughts go to my mother. It is because of the struggles, sacrifices and prayers she made to raise me that I am the woman I am today, because of her I have never been more proud of being a woman. She taught me how to be an African woman through her strength, protectiveness, wisdom, generosity, love and mentorship.

The strength she put in, the sternness and “mummy looks” she gave, the plowing, planting, weeding and sowing she did just to put food on our table… the work she put in till her heart gave out. All this she did with a smile on her face with a soft hum and a sweet calming song. If that isn’t strength then I don’t know what is. I have learnt to put smiles on other people’s faces simply by smiling at them or reaching out I have learned to listen, because with this harsh world things move so fast we forget to care about each other. I live to emulate my mother, to be that strength that unites people, the glue that holds the flimsiest of pieces in place. By simply being a woman of strength, a woman not afraid to try and fail and even better, to succeed. She taught me not to be limited by what I hear, to have a positive outlook and purpose to make the world a better place than I found it.

My mother, was a beautiful African woman, with long, black hair running across her back, with round soft cheeks and soft skin, I admired her beauty not realizing that I was like her, for that I feel blessed. She used to say, “Always ensure your hair is well done, your shoes are presentable” and one phrase I have never forgotten is “Never forget, whatever happens, life must go on”, it made no sense back then but now it does, time doesn’t stand still when life happens to you, not everything will always go your way, but it doesn’t hurt to try. My mother often taught us life lessons, a well of wisdom so deep that even old people would seek her for advice on matters.

She protected us from the harsh world with all her might. I remember this one time we were together, we witnessed a road accident, she grabbed me and hid my face holding me tightly to protect me from looking at how cruel the world can be. She loved so selflessly, she wouldn’t eat anything without having enough for all her children and then some for any unseen guest that may come along. Because of this she always insisted we make extra food, for you never know who will come by, thinking of other people, caring about other people even if they don’t know about it. That is simply amazing.

Whatever my mother touched, flourished, I call it “mama’s touch”, her flowers bloomed, she planted fruits in areas that were said such fruits wouldn’t grow, but hers flourished. Her field of corn attracted many and she did it with so much enthusiasm and a hearty laugh. And at the end of the day when she was resting after a long day’s work, we would all fight to rest on her lap, for it was the softest most comfortable place to be, there was only space for one on each lap and to get the spot you had to be quick and cunning. Regardless she didn’t make any of her children feel more loved or less loved than the other.

I can take an eternity describing the beauty that is my mother, the strength that is my mother for with what I learnt from her, I live to be just a fraction of who she was. I try to lend a helping hand where necessary because my mother taught me to be of help whenever I can. I give selflessly when I can because I saw how selfless she was. Whatever I do I ask myself, would my mother do this? Because in my eyes she was the purest being, I ever had a chance of meeting. She is my ideal of who an African woman is, a person I learn from, aspire to be, draw inspiration and strength from and one I am blessed to call my mother.

Maureen Amondi Ogwang♥♥


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

